Vedic Gemstone Reading

A Vedic gemstone reading is given in the form of a written report. After analyzing your chart (including divisional charts), I will make recommendations for gemstones you could consider wearing to strengthen certain planetary influences in your life. I will also provide resources for acquiring these stones. To learn more about my approach to gemstone therapy, please read the information below. 

To schedule a gemstone reading, fill out the Consultation Form and checkout below. 

What Is Gemstone Therapy?
Gemstones are one of the most effective and accessible remedial measures in Vedic astrology. Gemstones are receptacles of light, powerful conductors of energy. They are used in Vedic astrology for their ability to directly transmit planetary energies when worn on the body. Gemstones are, first and foremost, minerals. Minerals are not only essential for life, but they are the primary means by which life-energy is conducted in the body. Through proper nutritious diet, we provide our bodies with the array of minerals it needs to maintain optimum levels of well-being. For example, Shilajit, one of the most revered rejuvenatives of Ayurvedic and Tibetan Medicine, contains over 85 trace minerals.

Gemstones are the minerals of the Earth's body. They come in various colors and shapes. Gemstones are essentially a form of energy therapy. When gemstones are worn such that they make contact with the skin, they transmit tiny currents of energy which may even be tangible to some people. The stones directly affect the etheric field of the body. When a planetary influence is weak in one's chart, wearing a gemstone is effective because it directly transmits the energy that is lacking. I base my gemstone recommendations from the system of gemstone therapy created by my teacher, Ersnt Wilhelm. 

The Wilhelm System of Gemstone Therapy
The Wilhelm system is not actually a new system. Rather, it most accurately reflects what has been written in the ancient texts. As gemstone therapy is primarily a form of color therapy, the color of gems is a significant indicator of its astrological relevance. In Wilhelm's system, the colors correspond to the color of the signs as indicated in the ancient astrological texts, and the crystalline structure of the gem corresponds to the planets. Thus, a ruby is typically used for the Sun, but in the Wilhelm system, a ruby's crystalline structure corresponds to Venus, and if it is of a red color, it corresponds to Aries. 

Aside from the Wilhelm system, all other methods of gemstone therapy only consider a gemstone’s color when assigning it to a planet.  Thus, all green gems are for Mercury, all yellow gems are for Jupiter, all blue gems are for Saturn, and so on.  However, as can be determined by simple inspection, a blue turquoise looks and feels very different than a blue sapphire.  These gems feel different because they have different crystalline structures and because they refract light differently.  Thus, they will also conduct planetary energies differently.  The Wilhelm system takes these differences into account in a systematic manner.

Crystalline Structure
All gemstones exhibit one of seven possible crystalline structures.  In the Wilhelm system, each of the seven physical planets (Rahu and Ketu are the nodes of the Moon, which are not physically manifested) is associated with one of these seven crystalline structures.  All gems with a given crystalline structure can be used to strengthen the planet that “rules” that structure.

Five of the seven crystalline structures are doubly refractive, that is to say they bend light two different ways as it passes through them, thereby producing two different rays of refraction.  Gems with doubly refractive crystalline structures are assigned to the planets Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus and Saturn, since these planets rule two signs of the Zodiac each.  One of the signs that they rule is "yang" (or masculine) and the other is "yin" (or feminine).  The ray that bends less is associated with the yang sign.  The ray that bends more is associated with the yin sign.  The singly refractive crystalline structures are given to the Sun and Moon, which rule one sign each. 

To complete the system, colors are assigned to the 12 signs of the Zodiac as follows:  Aries – red; Taurus – white; Gemini – blue; Cancer – pink; Leo – yellow; Virgo – scintillating; Libra – green; Scorpio – brown; Sagittarius – orange; Capricorn – multicolor; Aquarius – violet; Pisces – clear. 

All gemstones of the color of a sign are associated with that sign.  For example, all red gems belong to Aries, all blue gems to Gemini, all yellow gems to Leo, and so on.  This color scheme is based on the colors assigned to the signs in the ancient Vedic Astrology texts.  These texts also assigned the colors grey and black to the Moon's nodes, Rahu and Ketu.

The Complete System
Combining color and crystalline structure gives a system in which there is a different gemstone for each planet (based on its crystalline structure) in each of the 12 signs (based on its color).  A gemstone’s refractive characteristic adds the final dimension to the system.  It allows one to choose a gem for either the male or the female sign ruled by those planets which rule two signs. 

Thus, a gemstone can be systematically chosen to strengthen the beneficial energy of any planet in any sign where that planet is weak.  This system works with well over 100 different gemstones, including everything from diamonds, rubies and sapphires to semi-precious gemstones such as jade, amethyst and fluorite.